TheatreFest ShowCase Awards

Top Banner

TheatreFest logo

2023 TheatreFest National ShowCase Awards. 

Certificates of Participation

For all teams appearing in the TheatreFest ShowCase. Drama Development Trust Vouchers. 

Playmarket LogoPlaymarket Award: New work from Aotearoa New Zealand.

Pounamu donated by Nanette Wright, in recognition of Olga E Harding. The work must be entered in TheatreFest, with the production being its premiere. Chosen separately by the TheatreFest Script Assessor. Entries sponsored by Playmarket, with a prize of $250.      

Drama Development Trust Award: New Director

Directorial debut. Entering TheatreFest and as a first-time Director in the public arena. 
Chosen by the Regional Adjudicators. Drama Development Trust voucher. 

Jannat Aitchison Memorial Award for Distinctive Emerging Talent

Donated by: Joan Ford, Denise Walsh, Nanette Wright.
Three awards chosen by past & present National Presidents in attendance.   

APRA Award

Best use of sound-scape and sound-effects.

Michael Norris Award

Best use of Original or Live Music. Donated by the Norris family.

Steven Arnold Creativity and Design Award

Total Visual Concept and Execution.

EP LogoHe Pito Aronui Award – The Seeding of Creative Potential

Acknowledges new writing and performance, which must be created by and contain Māori or Pasifika content. Entries in this category, are also eligible for all other awards. May be awarded at Regional or National ShowCase. Donated by Education Perfect with a prize of $1000.  

Theatre New Zealand Award: Excellence in Acting 

Two awards presented for excellence in acting.

Denise Walsh Award 

Best Production of a New Zealand Play – written by a New Zealand playwright, regardless of setting or content.

Bryan Aitken Youth Theatre Award

Best Youth Production. This category is for teams aged 19 years and under.  

Ewen Coleman Award 

Best Adult Production.

Theatre New Zealand Book of Honour

Best Overall Production. 


 You can download this and other documents by clicking here.