Other Playwriting Awards


Playmarket presents this award annually. Take this opportunity to have your play read by a panel of industry professionals.

Prizes may include the following categories: Best Play, Best Play by a Māori Playwright, Best Play by a Pasifika Playwright, Best Play by a Woman Playwright.

Theatre New Zealand encourages playwrights entering the Olga E. Harding New NZ Playwriting Award to also enter the Adam NZ Play Award.

Entrance requirements

Open to any New Zealand citizen/permanent resident.

Plays must not have been professionally produced (pending productions; readings; workshops or community productions are fine).

Scripts may only be submitted to this competition once.

There are no limits on length, style, theme or cast size.

You may submit as many as you like.

Submissions close at 11.59pm on 1 December each year.

For further information and a submission form, please go to the following webpage: www.playmarket.org.nz/news/adam-nz-play-award

You can download information by clicking here